Skip to content
December 13, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Two Shadows in Illinois

Today I pass judgment on two promising unfilmed projects that both happen to be named after towns in Illinois and two others that have titles that mean nothing to me because they’re too shadowy.

DOWNER’S GROVEHayden Panettiere and Nikki Reed could be the next victims at a cursed high school in the titular Chicago suburb where, at the end of each school year, one senior dies a bizarre death. Based on a novel that is being adapted by Bret Easton Ellis. Also stars Rebecca De Mornay.

@@@@ – Cool twist on the FINAL DESTINATION/I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER/URBAN LEGEND genre but with interesting names attached. Didn’t realize novelist Ellis wrote screenplays, especially based on books by other authors. Weird. He should bring some class to the party. And I do like the cast so far.

LINCOLNDaniel Day-Lewis has replaced Liam Neeson as the 16th U.S. president in Steven Spielberg‘s film version of the book “Team of Rivals,” focusing on the profound political and personal conflicts Abraham Lincoln faced during the Civil War with a cabinet that included three of his opponents in the 1860 election. Shooting begins next fall for a late 2012 release.

@@@ – I thought they were getting ready to start this back when Neeson’s wife died. Boy, would he have been perfect for the role. Bill the Butcher looks more like a John Wilkes Booth to me. And then there’s the heavy political focus of the story, that suggests it may come out a tad on the talky, stagy side, and if that is the case, why do we need Spielberg? I’m one of the few people who liked AMISTAD, but it did get too speechified for its own good toward the end. I’m kind of interested in this, but I guess I’ll have to wait until Fox News tells me what I’m really supposed to think about it.

SHADOW DIVERS – Based on a true story about the 1991 discovery of a German submarine sunk near the New Jersey shoreline and the divers’ struggle to unravel the mystery of how it got there.

@@ – Sounds like there might be a lot of beautiful but slow-moving underwater photography, but so far I’m not dying to know what the big mystery is. If I was, I’d look it up on Wikipedia. I’m not saying a true story can’t be exciting if you can find the details elsewhere. I’m just saying the fact that I’m not motivated to look it up right now tells me I won’t be motivated to drive to the multiplex to pay $12 to see it.

SHADOW DANCERRebecca Hall is a former IRA terrorist turned informer who is arrested over an aborted bombing attempt and forced to reveal her past in order to see her kids again.

@ – Sorry, but I’m an American so I don’t really give a shit about the IRA. I like movies about, I don’t know, people who invent Facebook, for example. Or, if I gotta see a British movie, a singing nanny who flies through the air on a magical umbrella sounds like fun. Terrorists and bombings and stuff like that doesn’t really turn me on all that much. So with all that going against this movie, for my tastes anyway, I’m really not getting into the Sophie’s choice thing about this sort-of terrorist chick agonizing over her maternal responsibilities.

Those are my opinions. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

