Skip to content
October 27, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

For Colored Girls

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@@@

Confession: I’ve never seen a Tyler Perry movie. I’m looking forward to this being my first. If I had never seen the very powerful stage play, this trailer would have me scratching my head. If I hadn’t seen the trailer, I’d wonder if the play’s poetic style would translate to the screen. This looks like it’s going to be something pretty special and the stellar cast supports that expectation. Enuf said.

Michael the Moviegoer – @

Terry, I thought we are supposed to be reviewing trailers here. Your @@@@ rating is equal to mine in anticipation of seeing this film. But the trailer is awful. I don’t know why anybody in movie marketing thinks it’s a good idea to sell a movie with a trailer that just blinks at us. All that fade into and out of blackness was making me nauseous. Even the rhythms in the editing are not consistent. At the 34-second mark is a quarter-second[!] shot of Janet Jackson. Then from 00:38 to 00:40 seconds it’s like dead air with complete blackness. The steady rhythm of blinks from 00:50 to 00:57 seconds feels like an eternity. And what’s with that truncated title? There are more than four colored girls in this movie! Oh, so it’s “For Colored Girls.” Does that mean if you’re not a colored girl this movie isn’t “for” you. Seeing this abbreviated title on movie marquees in the deep south might evoke uncomfortable memories of segregation. I agree with you that the stage play was powerful, and I certainly hope the film is as good. But I don’t think this counts as a Tyler Perry movie. Unlike his previous films, this is adapted from material he didn’t write. And thank God for that!!! I’m looking forward to seeing this film, but my review of the trailer is one @.

Terry’s Rebuttal:

Yeah, I thought we were supposed to be reviewing trailers, too, and not telling each other how to do our jobs! Take some Dramamine or whatever you were on when you allowed yourself to complain about — but overlook — the same blackouts in the Clint Eastwood trailer. Between the blackouts, this trailer does show me they’re taking the source material seriously. As for the title truncation, find me a picture of a marquee that was able to fit the complete title of last year’s “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire” on it, then we’ll talk.

You can consider seeing “For Colored Girls” beginning November 5, 2010.

Tomorrow we’ll review the trailer for a new musical starring Cher and Christina Aguilera.

Leave a Reply

