Skip to content
October 14, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Fair Game

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@

I hope it’s not a remake of that horrible 1995 Cindy Crawford movie of the same name where she was hunted by the KGB! But I love the pairing of Penn and Watts, who have starred in several good films already. And it’s good to see director Doug Liman back in his original “Bourne Identity” territory. This looks like an exciting political espionage thriller which, I suspect, is based on a true story, although I’m not too familiar with it. Hopefully the movie will educate as well as entertain me.

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@

Personally, I’d rather see Liman go back to his real original roots in “Swingers” and “Go” territory. This trailer is so noisy, it’s no wonder you missed where it says “Inspired by True Events” (00:36). I remember the true story when it was big news and it mildly interested me. It looks like it’s way pumped up from those actual events that inspired it. It may be a big, exciting movie in that respect, but the trailer is so bombastic it taunts credibility and makes me think I’d be better off re-watching another recent true espionage story, Billy Ray’s “Breach.”

Michael’s Rebuttal:

Wow! It’s good to know we agree on something. I love “Breach” and, you’re right, it’s a top-notch example of an espionage thriller that didn’t play to the popcorn crowd. Liman’s new film adds the popcorn element which basically turns it into an action picture. I won’t mind this subject being handled as an action film, as long as it’s not as stupid as “Salt” was. This, at least, looks like it will be intelligent.

“Fair Game” gets exposed in limited release on November 5, 2010

Join us next week when we review new trailers with Kristen Stewart, James Gandolfini, Harrison Ford and Rachel McAdams.

Leave a Reply

