Skip to content
October 12, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Hereafter

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@@

“Hereafter” looks sweet! Clint Eastwood rarely lets us down, and this looks like it’s a more ambitious film from him than recent efforts. Taking a tsunami tragedy and merging it with “Ghost” is a wild idea that wouldn’t interest me at all if it wasn’t coming from Eastwood. But if we’re supposed to be reviewing just trailers here, I must say I hate the popular trailer effect of fading to black every half-second, greatly overused here. But I know Eastwood won’t employ such an annoying method of editing in his actual film. So I’m there.

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@@

No director has such a great track record that I would automatically salivate over their next movie even when the trailer is such a vague, formless blob as this one. I see a tsunami (“2012”-like special effects does not make a movie more ambitious). I see a psychic. I see questions about life after death being explored. I see smatterings of interesting elements seemingly disconnected from each other. If this wasn’t from a high-profile director, this trailer would not get me to the theatre. I am interested in the subject matter, but I have doubts about this film’s execution. Those doubts are slightly less only because it comes from Eastwood and writer Peter Morgan.

Michael’s Rebuttal:

Eastwood and Morgan do have great track records that should cause any rational person to salivate over their next movies. I said this looked like a more ambitious film “for Clint” and made no mention of the “2012”-like effects in my remarks. But now that you mention it, how often can you recall Eastwood using CGI effects in a movie? The high ambition comes from Eastwood taking on a larger story with larger issues than most of his previous films.

Clint Eastwood’s “Hereafter” opens the day after the day after tomorrow.

Next up, we’ll review the trailer for the new Will Ferrell animated comedy “Megamind.”

Leave a Reply

