Skip to content
September 23, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Stone

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@

There’s great tension and suspense running throughout this trailer. If the feature-length version can match that then I believe this will be a good movie. I love the conflict created by the prisoner’s hot wife seducing the prison warden. It’s like a weird twist on “Indecent Proposal” set in a prison. The cast couldn’t be more appealing. DeNiro with Edward Norton is an inspired pairing. And did I already mention that Milla Jovovich is hot? I’m there.

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@@

I agree. Looks like a salacious tale of moral turpitude in the criminal justice system. Norton is really into his role and De Niro’s character is headed for some serious trouble. I share your reservation when you wonder “if” it can hold up to the promises made in the trailer. I also have one big complaint — can we retire the “days before his retirement” cliché that is obligatorily attached to any character in law enforcement played by an actor over 45?

Michael’s Rebuttal:

OMG, yes. The worst offender with that cliche has got to be Robert Duvall’s character in “Falling Down.” And that was in 1993 and they’re still doing it!

Find out if Norton gets released when “Stone” gets released on October 8, 2010.

Come back next week when we review four more trailers, including one that actually dares to call itself “Douchebag” and yet another remake of a notorious slasher movie.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. xine23 / Sep 23 2010 10:10 am

    I like the fact that Edward Norton is back in a dark role. I still love his roles in Primal Fear and American History X. I don’t know if I will see it in the theatre, but I will for sure see it. I like going to the theatre for comedies (I don’t know why) and big action films (explosions are just prettier on the big screen!). Good post, guys.

  2. dorkosphere / Sep 26 2010 8:15 pm

    I love the back and forth element to your reviews, it’s what made siskel and ebert so great and it’s what makes your reviews so fun to read

    • sundryandco / Sep 27 2010 7:55 am

      I agree – The back and forth element makes for a really enjoyable read! Great idea for a blog 🙂

      • MichaelAndTerrance / Sep 27 2010 1:03 pm

        Thanks! Michael and Terrance grew up watching S&E.

  3. sundryandco / Sep 27 2010 7:58 am

    I love all the actors in this film…However, I’m not sure about the idea of teaming up Jovovich and De Niro. I normally love Norton in films, but when I saw this trailer…I just wasn’t convinced! Unfortunately, I don’t think I’ll be going to see this – It doesn’t look like anything special (to me). However, if I return here and you have written a review post-viewing saying that you enjoyed watching it, I may reconsider!

Leave a Reply

