Skip to content
September 16, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Buried

teaser

trailer

Michael the Moviegoer – @@ (teaser) / @@ (trailer)

As an experiment in minimalism, I really do want to see this movie. I had a high level of anticipation when I first heard about it. But after seeing the trailer, I’m worried. Very worried. Everything that happens in this movie seems to hinge on the impossible notion that a cellular phone will have a signal six feet underground (and an unusually long-lasting battery). Anyone who’s ever been on a New York City subway train, or who rides the tubes in London, knows that their phones go dead in the tunnels. As a challenge, just try to imagine a movie like this being made in the 70s or 80s, before cellular phones. There would be no dialogue. It would require the same level of talent that made Tom Hanks alone on an island so interesting in “Cast Away.” This just looks like 90 minutes of cell phone chatter. I’m worried.

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@@ (teaser) / @@ (trailer)

I, too, was curious when I heard about this. The teaser is so ironically exactly what I expected. Will that work for 90 minutes? I don’t know. But it leaves me curious to find out. Then the trailer reveals story elements similar to the silly “Untraceable.” I can live with that. But I can’t live with those graphics and stills. I know the whole movie can’t be a blank screen. I just hope the movie isn’t done in the style of the trailer. It says the film doesn’t have confidence in its suspense so it needs to dress it up. As for your ridiculous whining about cell phone batteries and coverage, Michael, you truly are an idiot. Nothing about this movie is realistic. You have to make some concessions going in. How do you know the film isn’t set in a future where cell phones work underground? How do you even know he’s really underground? Would you rather he just lay there the whole time dying while we hear his thoughts in voiceover like in “Duel”? Without some kind of interaction, there’s no movie. Deal with it.

Michael’s Rebuttal:

No, I never suggested voiceover. The challenge would be to create interest visually, without any words at all. Like what “Cast Away” achieves for quite awhile before Wilson the ball shows up as someone for Tom Hanks to speak with. I would hate having to listen to voiceover narration telling us what we can clearly see. “Oh, I see I’m stuck in a box.” That would be as bad as the whole cell phone part of the plot. But I also think that cell phones in the future will be able to beam him out of that box, so really the concept for this movie can only work in a pre-high tech past.

“Buried” gets dug up on September 24 in limited release, then everywhere on October 8, 2010.

Tomorrow we’ll take a second look at the controversial trailer for Fox Searchlight’s “Never Let Me Go.”

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Róisín / Sep 22 2010 1:47 am

    I’m really interested to see how they get a feature length film out of this – That’s the main reason I’ll be going to see it. I hadn’t thought about the fact that they may actually stick with the mobile phone conversation for most of the film. Now I’m worried too!
    It seems to have received relatively good reviews. Have you heard anything about the format of the film? I’d quite like if they didn’t stray from his location/scene, but I presume they probably will feature the rest of the cast?
    If he can make a phone call from there, can they also track his mobile phone to the location he is calling from and rescue him? Or if he somehow gained access to a wifi zone, he could update his status to “buried” 😀 Oh, or maybe he could somehow recharge his battery with the heat from the lighter. If he was Macgyver, he would have been prepared for a situation like this – Like forming a new battery out of some unused chewing gum. I wonder if it’s a camera phone.
    If I was trapped like that, I’m pretty sure that I’d make a call which would be put on hold, accompanied by a glockenspiel version of “Unchained Melody”, during which my battery would run out 😦

    • MichaelAndTerrance / Sep 22 2010 1:36 pm

      I haven’t heard any more about it than what’s in the trailer. Still looking forward to seeing it, but after seeing the “127 Hours” trailer (which we’ll review soon), it makes “Buried” look like nothing more than “‘Phone Booth’ in a coffin.”

      BTW, I was re-watching “The Departed” last weekend and there was a scene where Martin Sheen and Leonardo DiCaprio are using their cell phones on the subway, so I guess Michael hated that movie! – Terry.

  2. sundryandco / Sep 23 2010 4:46 am

    Ha. Well, I can safely say that if Colin Farrell was the protagonist in “Buried”, I’m not quite sure I would want him to escape…
    I read about “127 Hours” recently – I wondered how long it would be until someone made a film about it. Thinking of it reminds me of another film I saw when I was a teenager – “Touching the Void” – Have you seen it?

    • MichaelAndTerrance / Sep 24 2010 12:18 am

      Haven’t seen “Touching the Void.” Sounds like it might be a good companion piece recommendation for Michael’s review of 127. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

