Skip to content
September 14, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

You Will Meet A Tall Dark Stranger

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@@

I’m always amazed to see the ensemble casts Woody Allen is still able to pull together. Allen’s films are hit-and-miss for me. But his move to London-based films with 2005’s “Match Point” signaled a creative resurgence. This looks like one of his more fluffier affairs, which probably makes the chances for its success more like 50-50. But even bad Woody Allen films have some good moments. So, since I’ve seen them all, there’s no way I would skip a new one no matter how dull the trailer might be. Yes, I’m saying that I dislike this trailer, but will still be there on opening day. Hence my rating.

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@

At least you’re admitting the trailer sucks. That’s the first step, Michael, in weaning yourself from this overrated has-been. Woody Allen hasn’t been relevant since the 80s. I can’t count the bad Woody Allen films with no good moments on just two hands. I did like “Match Point,” but it was more of a peak for him than a resurgence. Yes, it is interesting to see Anthony Hopkins pulled into this, but I can’t tell if it’s even a speaking part or just a cameo. And that narrator feels like something out of the “Bananas” era, but the humor certainly doesn’t. The last line, “Wow, that’s exciting news,” made me laugh at the trailer, not with it.

Michael’s Rebuttal:

I still say that a bad Woody Allen film is far better than a lot of what Hollywood has been offering recently. I’m always curious about what his next film will be. I know it won’t be a “Transformers” sequel and that’s what keeps me excited about him.

Meets a small, dark theatre on September 22, 2010.

Tomorrow we review a trailer for another new movie with a long sentence for a title.

Leave a Reply

