Skip to content
September 9, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Enter the Void

Michael the Moviegoer – @

Finally, a trailer that eliminates the guess work involved for me in deciding whether or not I want to see a movie. At the 1:15 mark an unknown critic’s quote says “so visually seductive it flips the brain off switch.” I don’t want to see any movie where I must switch off my brain in order to enjoy it. After knowing that, nothing else in this trailer appeals to me. I don’t know, or even care to know, what this film is about. I don’t think it knows. It’s just a psycho-delic drug trip. I think I’ll stay home and watch “Requiem For A Dream” instead.

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@@

There’s good turning-off-the-brain movies and bad ones. “The Back-Up Plan” doesn’t require a brain because none were used by the filmmakers. But the eye-popping visuals here make me pretty excited to let this film take my mind somewhere it hasn’t been before. Your brain might have already been off if you couldn’t tell this is a brother-sister ghost story. Beyond that, it is vague, and it’s quite possible it will end up being a big, noisy mess. It’s also possible it will be one of the more memorable movie-going experiences of the year. When something is this different, you just never know. I think it’s worth the risk.

Michael’s Rebuttal:

Clearly there are a lot of places your mind hasn’t been before. I understand the allure of seeing a movie that is visually stimulating. But I still prefer movies that can combine a great visual experience with something I can connect with emotionally. I will stare directly into a strobe light for 90 minutes if there were a great story to be told from it. This movie looks like the strobe light without the story. Imagine what that will feel like. Enter The Void, indeed.

Enters theatres on September 17, 2010.

Next week we continue looking at this month’s independent releases with four more trailer reviews, including Philip Seymour Hoffman’s directorial debut and Woody Allen’s latest outing.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Eric / Sep 19 2010 10:18 am

    I go back and forth between thinking this is going to be awesome and thinking it’s going to be unbelievably overblown and pretentious. So in a way I guess I agree with you both, ha. Guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

