Skip to content
September 7, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Never Let Me Go

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@

The combination of “The Remains Of The Day” and “One Hour Photo” is as jarring as a 7.8 earthquake. It definitely caught my attention. But after I picked myself up off the floor to continue watching, I felt the uncomfortable ickiness of seeing Carey Mulligan in a part that seems to exactly mirror her Oscar-nominated role in last year’s “An Education.” She’s too good to be type-cast this early in her career. But how can anyone say no to starring in a screen adaptation of a novel by the great Kazuo Ishiguro? I’m pretty sure I’ll like the movie more than I like the trailer. But I wish they hadn’t shown so much. That epic-length five second scream around the two minute mark feels like some sort of spoiler. Probably very dramatic within the context of the film, but way over-the-top for this trailer.

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@

At least the characters here are more alive, slightly, than the ones in “Remains,” but the pacing and dreariness of it all remains intact. I’m happy the trailer amply warned me how beautiful but boring this will be so I can stay away until I can TiVo it off cable and zip past the all the slow, wordless tracking shots that litter movies like this. I get the sense there is a story in there that will interest me, but I don’t have the time to find it.

Michael’s Rebuttal:

Terry, you sound like someone who comments on movies he’s never seen. I can’t think of a single wordless tracking shot in “The Remains Of The Day.” The film is wall-to-wall dialogue and the words are bursting with a kind of poetry that can only come from properly adapting Ishiguro for the screen. In fact, whatever establishing and/or tracking shots that do exist in the film, also contain Emma Thompson’s beautiful voiceover narration. If you find yourself perpetually bored by great literate films, then you should cut way back on your caffeine.

Opens in limited release September 15, 2010.

Come back tomorrow when we review the trailer for “Catfish.”

Leave a Reply

