Skip to content
September 3, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Secretariat

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@@

I was disappointed with “Seabiscuit” and hope this makes up for the lackluster experience I had with that film. There hasn’t been a really good horse movie since “The Black Stallion,” “Casey’s Shadow” and “Champions” all from decades ago. This one has two of my favorite actors in Diane Lane and John Malkovich. There’s almost no way it can go wrong. Here’s hoping I’m right about that. If nothing else, I hope I will find out how much Malkovich spent on that hat!

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @

I love Diane Lane almost as much as you love horses, Michael. But right from the very start of this trailer, her bedtime-story narration turned me off. It makes 2006’s “Flicka” seem sophisticated by comparison. This looks so formulaically old-hat, even the flaws in the only mildly disappointing “Seabiscuit” can be overlooked. If you’re really looking for the next “Black Stallion,” keep riding.

Michael’s Rebuttal:

What do you have against “formulaically old-hat”? I don’t mind a good retro-style movie once in a while. This doesn’t look like art, but it does seem like it could be immensely enjoyable.

Gallops into theatres on October 8, 2010.

We’ll be back next week with reviews of trailers for four new independent films.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. xine23 / Sep 10 2010 12:01 pm

    I just got chills watching this trailer. I don’t mind its cheesiness, that is one of the things that sold me on it. Yes Disney creates a specific formula for its feel-good movies but they also do really well at the box office but further have this way of evoking emotion most cannot. I am definitely camp Michael on this review. My arm hair is standing on edge!!

Leave a Reply

