Skip to content
August 19, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Easy A

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@@

This one has been on my radar since I heard of it back in January. Updating Nathaniel Hawthorne’s “The Scarlet Letter” to a contemporary high school setting, the way Amy Heckerling turned Jane Austen’s “Emma” into “Clueless” is a brilliant idea. It has the potential to be this generation’s “Mean Girls” with the way it addresses today’s teens’ social and sexual mores in a light romantic comedy setting. There were a few good laugh buttons in the trailer, but it doesn’t come off as laugh-out-loud hilarious as raunchy teen comedies like the original “American Pie.” I’m guessing they’re going for a PG-13 because it’s a female protagonist and it will be on par with a movie like “Ten Things I Hate About You.”

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@

Yeah, this one looks like it could be really funny in a smart way as opposed to raunchy. Although I doubt many high schoolers today know “The Scarlet Letter” at all. Even that awful Demi Moore version seems to be a distant memory by now. I’m not bothered by a PG-13 rating because I see no need for this kind of movie to come off like “American Pie.” Fornicating with a pastry can be done only once! But in reviewing this trailer as a trailer, I’d have to criticize the unimaginative choice of music. Sure Lady Gaga’s “Poker Face” was a big hit. But when you hear the line “I wanna hold ’em like they do in Texas state,” and we’re seeing a high school in Ojai, California, something just doesn’t seem right about that.

Terrance’s Rebuttal:

Let me get this straight, old timer. Kids today have never heard of James Dean or “The Scarlet Letter”? Michael, you sound like some fifty year old loner who’s never met a teenager in real life since the day Al Gore invented the Internet. Do you ever get out of your house? They did not stop teaching classic nineteenth century literature in high school the day you graduated, nor has anyone managed to successfully hide James Dean’s legacy from us. We were not born in a bubble. On the contrary, the so-called iGeneration has always lived with access to more information than has ever been available to anyone in the history of the world. What’s really weird is you probably think we never heard of “The Exorcist” yet we should never be allowed to see new variations of it because the 1973 version exists. Your logic scares me.

“Easy A” makes the grade on September 17, 2010.

See you Friday when we review the trailer for the indie vampire drama “Let Me In.”

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. CMrok93 / Aug 22 2010 9:35 am

    Looks like a funny high-school film, as Mean Girls was way back when, I just don’t know how much Emma Stone can actually do herself in this film.

    • MichaelAndTerrance / Aug 23 2010 12:06 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I just watched “Mean Girls” on cable last week, so I’m ready! 🙂 – Terry.

  2. xine23 / Sep 1 2010 3:29 pm

    I think Easy A looks funny as heck! I love Emma Stone’s sarcasm and I like that she is doing what she can for the “loser” guys at high school. Plus the supporting cast looks stellar with Stanley Tucci and Amanda Bynes. I will be there opening weekend to see it for sure 🙂

    • MichaelAndTerrance / Sep 2 2010 12:22 am

      Haha. Yeah, I would have settled for having my world fake-rocked by her when I was in h.s..

Leave a Reply

