Skip to content
August 11, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Machete

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @

Watching this trailer reminds me how uninvolved I was with the characters and stories of Robert Rodriguez’s “Desperado” and “Once Upon A Time In Mexico.” Rodriguez is a talented filmmaker and I’m glad he’s able to make the films he wants to see. I know there is an audience for his mindless machismo, as well as for his self-indulgent kiddie movies. But the reason we were impressed with the scope of action in his $7,000 debut, “El Mariachi,” is because it was in the context of a simple character caught up in a situation that made us care about him. Rodriguez spends his bigger budget on explosions at the expense of empathetic characters. I know not to waste my time sitting through that again.

Michael the Moviegoer – @@

I never thought I’d see the day when Steven Seagal, Cheech Marin and Robert DeNiro were all in a film together. That sort of makes me slightly interested in seeing it. But my expectations are sufficiently low. I wasn’t a fan of “El Mariachi,” but I get what you mean. Rodriguez was much better when he was a hungry unknown working with a shoestring budget. Since then it’s all been logic-defying stunts and wall-to-wall action at the expense of a good story. Rodriguez is like the poor-man’s Tarantino, with nothing much to offer beyond the usual cinematic bling. Big question though. What’s with that “Introducing Don Johnson” credit? I don’t get it.

“Machete” hatchets its way into theatres September 3, 2010.

Coming up next, Jennifer Aniston and Jason Bateman in the turkey baster romcom The Switch.

Leave a Reply

