Skip to content
August 2, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

The American

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@@

Although I’d prefer a snappier title, this film looks irresistible. It’s George Clooney back in “Michael Clayton” territory in a film about international espionage. Bring it on! I love that we don’t learn much about the story or plot in the trailer. That’s the movie’s job. Not knowing makes me wanna know. So the trailer forces me to give up my money at the box office. This carrot-dangling trailer suggests a movie filled with suspense and intrigue, fine performances, exotic locations and gorgeous cinematography. (Although in the shot of that girl walking into the river, her bikini bottoms look suspiciously like animation used to sanitize the trailer!) I’m betting this plays like an intelligent Americanized James Bond. Really looking forward to it.

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@

Come on, Michael. There’s a big difference between not giving away too much of the plot and not even giving a premise. If you’re going to sell a movie just on a mood, it better look like something I’ve never seen before, like “Inception.” This movie looks very familiar. What little of the setup they tell us — it’s the assassin’s last assignment before he gets out of the business — is an overdone cliché. Espionage is the genre. It doesn’t tell me what’s unique about this espionage movie to be worthy of my time and money. Espionage just for espionage’s sake doesn’t interest me. And I’m less interested when I’m told it comes from an “acclaimed director” whose name I’ve never heard before.

Michael’s Rebuttal:

You make it sound like I would see ANY movie that involves espionage. I can assure you I’m not looking forward to seeing “Spy Kids 4.” And Anton Corbijn’s last film was the remarkable and impressive 2007 biopic “Control” about the lead singer of British band Joy Division. You should see it. Corbijn was highly acclaimed for it.

Who do you agree with? Does the trailer work for you? Have you heard of Anton Corbijn? Leave us a comment and let us know.

Anton Corbijn’s “The American” can be spied in theatres on September 1, 2010.

Come back Wednesday when we review the trailer for Disney’s 50th animated feature, “Tangled.”

Leave a Reply

