Skip to content
July 30, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@

I think the premise is: Michael Cera knows the audience has grown tired of him playing the same character over and over so now he’s going to do it again but then he’s going to kick some ass, too, and that will make him cool again, like the cool editing style with all the cool graphics floating around the picture. To be fair, there are a lot of little touches I like about this trailer, but then the over-the-topness of it all doesn’t make it a must-see for me. I would have given it an extra @ if there was more Anna Kendrick in the trailer.

Michael the Moviegoer – @@

I liked “Shaun Of The Dead,” didn’t like “Hot Fuzz,” so this one’s a toss-up for me. The line about the L-word really made me laugh, but Cera’s hair caused me to cringe. And what is Anna Kendrick doing in this movie anyway? Last year’s “Up In The Air” blasted her onto everyone’s radar for a hot second and THIS is what she chose to do as a follow-up? Somewhere in Hollywood there’s an agent who must be fired. Also, why is it “verses the world?” Shouldn’t it be “verses the seven evil ex’s?” This just looks like a horny, geeky comic-book lover’s idea of a date movie. I can’t get behind this.

Opens August 13, 2010.

Next week we’ll review trailers for George Clooney’s political thriller “The American,” Disney’s animated Rapunzel update “Tangled,” and the long-dreaded threequel “Little Fockers.”

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. scarletsp1der / Jul 30 2010 8:05 pm

    I agree with all of your comments. But, I must say, that I enjoyed the uniqueness (if you will) of the trailer. The whole, comic book/live action/over the top-ness of it makes the trailer a lot more fun to watch. Imagine it without! Keep up the great work! I enjoy reading!

Leave a Reply

