Skip to content
July 28, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

The Other Guys

Michael the Moviegoer – @@

OK, so I did get one of the biggest laughs of the year from the trailer’s last line about how the movie industry is completely irresponsible with the way they portray explosives. But I doubt I’ll find it funny again if I see the movie, especially if you consider the fact that I’ll probably see the trailer in theatres and on TV 100 times more before the movie ever opens. So, who cares? I prefer Mark Wahlberg in his non-comedic roles like “The Departed.” I don’t think he can successfully switch sides the way James Caan did. This just feels like “Freebie And The Bean” on steroids, minus the laughs.

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@

The joke you laughed at isn’t even that original. I’m sure I’ve seen something like it Tweeted before. Or was it referenced in one of Andy Samberg’s SNL videos? Regardless, I did laugh at the “Look, he’s flying” line. I remember laughing out loud a lot in “Step Brothers” even though the story detoured in a stupid direction in the end. This looks like it will be similar in all respects. Good laughs, some maybe even not exposed in the trailer, but a disposable film that might only be worth a rental. However, I don’t have a problem with Wahlberg’s comic abilities. After all, I ROFL’d at him in “Planet of the Apes” and “The Happening.”

Michael’s Rebuttal:

I’m glad you were able to laugh at those movies. They just brought me to new levels of depression. And the joke about an actor suddenly realizing that explosions are not realistic in the movies is original to me as far as movies go. I can’t think of another movie that has this joke in it. Just because someone might have Tweeted it doesn’t make it off-limits. I don’t equate Twitter with going to the movies.

Terrance’s Counter-Rebuttal:

Okay, you forced me to look it up.

The comedic observation of the unrealism of movie heroes walking away from explosions without looking became virally famous in this video — with Will Ferrell! The gag at the end of the “Other Guys” trailer is merely a variation of a joke that Ferrell himself already told.

“The Other Guys” explodes into theatres without looking back on August 6, 2010.

Come back Friday for our review of Michael Cera in the trailer for “Scott Pilgrim vs. The World.”

Leave a Reply

