Skip to content
July 14, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Get Low

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@

The idea of a man wanting to attend his own funeral is a terrific concept. When that man is Robert Duvall and the funeral director is Bill Murray it becomes an irresistible idea for a film. The fact that it doesn’t look like a lame-brain slapstick comedy is even better. Judging by the chosen bits given to us in the trailer, I’m wondering if the movie is actually as good as I’m imagining. I want to love this trailer more than I do. But I like it just enough to want to see the movie, so I guess it’s done its job.

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@

I know what you mean, Michael. On paper, it should be a solid indie winner. It’s definitely the KIND of film I would want to see. But something about the way the trailer plays out makes me expect the movie will ultimately fizzle somewhere around the 40-minute mark. Duvall’s character is so inaccessible, I don’t get what I’m supposed to feel about this particular kook in this particular situation. It’ll take more than this trailer to get me to the box office to find out.

Opens July 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

