Skip to content
July 7, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

Dinner For Schmucks

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@@

Although this is a remake of a French film, it feels more like a remake of “I Love You, Man” mixed with “Dumb and Dumber.” However, the premise reminds me more of the 1991 film “Dogfight” with River Phoenix. This is the “bromantic” comedy version of that. Despite the gags in the trailer that come off as way too lowbrow for my tastes, I kind of have the feeling it will be entertaining enough. Paul Rudd is a great straight man. Steve Carell can probably pull off annoying while staying likable. Director Jay Roach has a good track record. But Zach Galifiankis comes off here as too much spice thrown into the recipe for this dinner.

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@

As I understand from the trailer, the basic premise is that people invite idiots to dinner so they can make fun of them. How does something like that survive the journey from idea to theatrically released feature film? I don’t know. But I’m curious enough to find out by seeing the film. The trailer does have some truly hilarious moments. I only hope the film can sustain that few minutes of fun for an entire hour and a half at least. My best guess is that there will be mixed results.

Opens July 30, 2010.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. scarletsp1der / Jul 8 2010 4:18 pm

    It will definitely be interesting! I, for one, can’t wait to check it out! Glad to see your ratings! Nice work, Nice work!

Leave a Reply

