Skip to content
June 14, 2010 / TerranceTheTrailerTrasher

I Am Love

UK trailer from Metrodome Distribution:

US trailer from Magnolia Pictures:

Terrance the Trailer Trasher – @@

I inadvertently reviewed the UK trailer first. All it showed was stunning architecture and sumptuous costumes, beautifully photographed in deliberate darkness. Plus sex, and dramatic music. It told me nothing at all about what the movie was about. The US trailer from Magnolia Pictures is a major improvement. The lighting has been significantly corrected. Now we learn it is about a woman who moves to Milan. And then what? More imagery. Even more urgent music. Closeups of food. A line about changing the world. And still no clue as to the story, covered up by Aronofsky-esque cutting that won’t actually be in a movie probably only slightly less boring than “The Remains Of The Day.” When two marketing teams fail to find something to say about the story, I assume the movie put them to sleep like it will me.

Michael the Moviegoer – @@@@

The U.S. trailer got me. Yes, the close-up of that shrimp alone makes me want to see the movie just to find out why the shrimp close-up seems so mysterious! But its got Tilda Swinton and Italy. I’m there. Don’t need to know anything else about the story. I’ll let the movie tell me the story. I don’t need to get it all in the trailer like we get for so many American movies. I prefer not knowing too much about a film before seeing it. But, Terry, I really don’t get your remark about “The Remains Of The Day.” First of all, there’s nothing boring about that movie. I would rank it among my top 10 favorites of all time. It was nominated for 8 (that’s EIGHT) Oscars including Best Picture. I don’t see the connection between these two films. “I Am Love” is set in present-day Milan, Italy and, judging by the lack of dialogue in the trailer, is probably in Italian with English subtitles. “The Remains Of The Day” is a British period piece, set entirely in England at the start of World War 2. If anything, your comparison is quite the compliment for “I Am Love.”

Opens this Friday in limited release.

Leave a Reply

